Pelosi vetoes Banks, Jordan for Jan. 6 select committee

By | July 21, 2021

Speaker Nancy Pelosi on Wednesday vetoed two of House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy’s picks to serve on the Jan. 6 committee on Wednesday, a move guaranteed to spark major backlash among House Republicans.

Pelosi rejected Rep. Jim Banks (R-Ind.), who was tapped to serve as ranking member, and Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), both of whom who voted to challenge certification of President Joe Biden’s electoral wins earlier this year.

“I must reject the recommendations of Representatives Banks and Jordan to the Select Committee,” Pelosi said in a statement. “The unprecedented nature of January 6th demands this unprecedented decision.”

Another Republican, freshman Rep. Troy Nehls (R-Texas), also voted not to certify Biden’s win, but Pelosi said she would is “prepared to appoint” Nehls as well as Reps. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.) and Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.), both of whom voted to certify the election.

“We need a comprehensive investigation as to who organized this attack, who paid for it, how they nearly succeeded in overthrowing a presidential election, why they did it and how we must organize ourselves to prevent anything like it from ever happening again,” reads Pelosi’s statement.